Philippine Standard Time

Agreement enabling PH agri-aqua startups and ATBI collaboration inked

For the first time, Agri-Aqua Technology Business Incubators (ATBIs) will be assisting and collaborating with local startups through sharing of network, experts, and investors, among others.

This initiative was inked through a memorandum of agreement (MOA) signing led by the Laguna Polytechnic State University (LSPU) ATBI on January 26, 2021 via Zoom and Facebook Live.

With LSPU as the base agency, the ATBIs of the Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University (DMMMSU) and Forest Products Research and Development Institute of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST-FPRDI) will serve as the partner ATBIs to share their technologies on chevon dishes in retort pouch with Matt ‘n Kayla Family Farm and antimicrobial products made from tawa-tawa plant with Adoress Farm, respectively.


Noel A. Catibog, officer-in-charge of the Technology Transfer and Promotion Division (TTPD), discussed the concept of ‘co-incubation,’ a new approach wherein two or more ATBIs assist startups and open more opportunities for the ATBI network.

Co-incubation will provide a wider range of incubation/acceleration services, larger pool of technical experts, larger network of investors and partners, increased promotional activities on technologies ready for commercialization, promotion of synergy within the network, and will strengthen economy across the regions. It is also seen as one of the solutions to address location barriers in technology adoption.

“Since this is the first-ever ATBI co-incubation initiative, we hope that we will be able to share not only our technologies but also the technical and management expertise. I hope that with this effort, we will also generate more innovations because there will be more participants of the program. We will be able to generate more ideas and further strengthen cooperation and collaboration,” said DOST-PCAARRD Executive Director Reynaldo V. Ebora in his message.

With high hopes for a more dynamic technology transfer and commercialization, the participants consider the new engagement as a milestone to promote synergy among the 16 ATBIs across the country.

The MOA signing was attended by LSPU President, Dr. Mario R. Briones; LSPU Vice President, Dr. Corazon N. San Agustin; DMMMSU President, Dr. Jaime I. Manuel Jr.; DMMMSU Vice President, Dr. Cynthia M. Rodriguez; DOST-FPRDI Director, Dr. Romulo T. Aggangan; ATBI project leaders; and PCAARRD staff.